What Do We Call The Registered Certificates Offered At TVET Colleges

What Do We Call The Registered Certificates Offered At TVET Colleges

What Do We Call The Registered Certificates Offered At TVET Colleges

The registered certifications provided at TVET (Technical and Vocational Education and Training) colleges are known by various titles depending on the nation and educational system. Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) colleges play an important role in providing students with the practical skills and information they need to succeed in a variety of sectors. These institutions provide a wide range of programmes geared to satisfy the needs of today’s workforce. The registered certificates that students get following the successful completion of their studies are among the most significant benefits of completing a TVET programme.

There are four main types of qualifications offered at TVET colleges: the National Certificate Vocational, NC(V) qualifications, the Report 191 Programs, the National Introductory Certificate (N4) and National Certificates (N4 ).

READ: List Of Public TVET Colleges In Pretoria

What Do We Call The Registered Certificates Offered At TVET Colleges

TVET colleges provide a variety of education and training programmes that integrate theoretical knowledge with hands-on practice. These programmes train students for jobs in engineering, healthcare, commerce, agriculture, and other fields of study. Obtaining a registered certificate, which attests to a student’s mastery of the skills and abilities stated in the program’s curriculum, is one of the important milestones of finishing a TVET programme. TVET Colleges offers the following registered certificates;

  • National Certificate (Vocational).

The National Certificate (Vocational) is a certificate that focuses on practical skills and job preparation. It is available at levels 2–4 and covers a wide range of fields, including hospitality and electrical engineering. NCV certifications provide graduates with the abilities needed to join the work market or continue their studies in higher education.

  • National N-diploma

The National N-Diploma is a higher-level qualification that builds on the NCV foundation. It is often a two- or three-year programme that offers a highly specialised and in-depth education in a particular specific field. Students with N-Diplomas are frequently hired in technical and supervisory positions.

  • Occupational Qualifications

These certificates are intended to fulfil the unique skill requirements of certain vocations or crafts. They are created in partnership with industry professionals to guarantee that graduates have the specific skills needed for success in their chosen jobs. Employers, industry organisations, and professional bodies all recognise occupational credentials.

  • Trade Certificates

Trade certificates are specialised certifications that demonstrate a person’s competence in a particular profession or skill. These qualifications are highly valued in the industry and frequently include apprenticeship programmes in which students work under the supervision of experienced experts to build their abilities.

READ: Pretoria TVET Colleges List

Programs Offered At TVET Colleges

TVET Colleges offers the following programmes;

  • National Certificate (Vocational):

NC(V) programs are administered by the Department of Higher Education and Training, with quality assurance provided by Umalusi.
Students get a broad variety of knowledge and practical skills in certain industry domains as a result of the programs’ integration of theory and practice.

  • NATED / Report 191:

Under the authority of the Department of Higher Education and Training, NATED / Report 191 programs are provided and quality assured by Umalusi.
The programs last 18 months and include 18 months of academic study at colleges and 18 months of relevant practical experience in the workplace.
N1 – N6 are engineering studies, while N4 – N6 are business and utility studies.

  • National Higher Certificate:

These are Higher Education programmes offered at colleges in partnership with Higher Education Institutions.

  • Learnership:

These programmes are based on a cluster of NQF registered unit standards and are offered under the auspices of SETAs and quality assured by SETA ETQAs. Skills programmes can build up to a full qualification.

  • NQF Full Time :

National Qualifications Framework (NQF) registered qualifications offered to full-time private students under the auspices of SETAs and quality assured by SETA ETQAs

  • Non-Formal:

Enrichment programs culminate in a certificate of attendance or company-based training in response to a specific demand.

  • ABET Or AET:

Adult (basic) education and training programmes.

READ: Difference Between A University And A TVET College In Terms Of What Each Offers

Contact Details For TVET  Colleges

Register At TVET Colleges

Visit Us
123 Francis Baard Street, Pretoria, South Africa

Contact Details
0800 87 2222  |  callcentre@dhet.gov.za

We’re Open
Monday: 08h00 – 16h00
Tuesday: 08h00 – 16h00
Wednesday: 08h00 – 16h00
Thursday: 08h00 – 16h00
Friday: 08h00 – 13h00
Closed on Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays

For more information visit the TVET Colleges official website. I hope the provided information is helpful, share your thoughts below in the comment section.


Leave a Comment